Blog Post 20: Initial Response to Moonrise Kingdom

I’ve actually seen the movie once before and I loved it to pieces. When I first watched it I didn’t actually know when it came out and by all of the fonts across the screen and technology I thought it was an older movie. Then I saw Bruce Willis and instantly knew this had to be more recent. I love that it’s not at all what you would expect in a movie nowadays. It’s hilarious and sort of sweet at the same time. Yes, the “lovers” are far too young for their actual love and whatnot, but it was cute seeing them go off on their own. I loved that both of the kids were so rebellious and were willing to neglect all previous responsibilities to just run away. I felt bad that the little dog had to die during the “fight scene”, which wasn’t really viewed but implied. I also found the kindness and care that came with the scoutmaster was really good. It was appreciated to see a guardian figure that wasn’t a parent that was willing to go such great lengths for Sam, the protagonist. Overall, the whole movie makes me happy and leaves me with a good feeling.

Leave a Reply

